Skip to content

Progress: Flower Report

March 31, 2011

So I have decided to take things into my own hands…Nor’easter on the way or not- there will be budding flowers around me! (the only “easter” I want to hear about involves bunnies and Cadbury eggs!) I cut forsythia a few days ago and brought them inside to force them. I need some color around me to convince me that, yes it will be Spring one day soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anne Wombwell deConingh permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:17 pm

    I couldn’t agree more! A few weeks ago I got a free bouquet of yellow tulips (doubles last longer) from our local grocery store and they gave me so much pleasure for two whole weeks! If you buy flowers or even pick them, fill your kitchen sink with water so that you can plunge the stem ends into the water deep enough to cut them underwater. Then, with your vase filled with water and the little packet of preservatives dissolved, put the cut flowers in right awayand arrange. Amazingly, tulips seem to grow in the vase and won’t stay the way you first arranged them. I read about this in Martha Stewart’s column a month ago. After several days recut them, again under water, put in fresh water (with more preservative if you have some) and they will last even longer. I’ve been told to put a penny in the vase, too, because of a chemical if gives off that also preserves. Spring will come! XO, Anne

Leave a Reply

