Skip to content

In The Garden: How to Dry Herbs Fast

October 6, 2010

So the first frost is approaching and I have an amazing herb garden that I do not want to waste. I have a ton of basil in particular and I was chatting with my neighbor about the best way to keep it. This is her quick and easy way to dry herbs:

Cut your basil and lay leaves flat on a paper towel. Put another paper towel on top and put in the microwave for 1 minute (depending on how many leaves you have you may need another 10 sec). You want it to be dry and crispy enough to crumble easily.

This is what they should look like after nuking them.

Then crumble into pieces and put into a container. This is one from Target that used to have crushed red pepper in it. So easy right?! I am going to miss the fresh, but this is the next best thing!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emma Smyth permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:30 am

    Thanks! Great tip. I was thinking of freezing mine but I’ll do this instead!

Leave a Reply

