Skip to content

DIY: Lamp Makeover

September 10, 2010

I had a small pink lamp in the guest room that was a little blah.  The shade was old and discolored and I thought this was the perfect opportunity to try a rope inspired lampshade and a new paint color that fit more with the blue accents in the room.

I used sisal rope and a glue gun and wrapped and wrapped. I did this project by the sink because I always burn myself at least once using hot glue. I left some space between the rope so that light would filter through. You could use thicker sisal or jute if you want more coverage.

Then I painted the base using leftover sample paint from the den we didn’t end up using, Behr Ultra Arctic Ocean. Yay- free paint!

So here is the result- I added wide sisal rope trim around the top and bottom to finish it off. I really like how it looks next to one of my prints.  Pretty cute for $3 (sisal rope)! As Brick Tamland in Anchorman eloquently stated, “I love lamp!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

